Mississippi might not be the richest state in the Union but it sure is the most friendly. You can’t beat the true, southern hospitality Mississippi prides itself on. Mississippi has been so well-known for having great hospitality that they decided to give the state the nickname, ‘The Hospitality State’.
What most people are not aware of are the weird laws in Mississippi’s Constitution. Some of these laws reflect on the Christian conservative nature of the state. For instance, it is against the law to disrupt a church service and private citizens are allowed to arrest anyone who dares to.
Below is an interesting list of eight more strange laws from the ‘Magnolia State’ that everyone who visits or lives in the state should heed.
1. You’ll be fined $100 for cursing in public
Anyone who profanely swears, or uses vulgar and indecent language, or is drunk in any public place in the presence of two or more individuals will be arrested and when convicted will pay a fine of $100 or be imprisoned in the county jail for not more than 30 days or both.
2. $10,000 fine for ‘abominable’ acts
Any person who shall be convicted of a detestable and abominable crime against nature, committed with mankind or with a beast, will pay a fine of $10,000 or will be imprisoned in a state penitentiary for not less than 10 years.
3. Teaching polygamy is against the law
According to Chapter 29 of Mississippi law on crimes against public morals and decency, “If any person shall teach another the doctrines, principles, or tenets, or any of them, of polygamy; or shall endeavor so to do; or shall induce or persuade another by words or acts, or otherwise, to embrace or adopt polygamy, or to emigrate to any other state, territory, district, or country for the purpose of embracing, adopting, or practicing polygamy, or shall endeavor so to do, he shall, on conviction, be fined not less than $25 nor more than $500, or be imprisoned in the county jail not less than one month nor more than six months, or both.”
4. Having more than one illegitimate child is punishable by law
If you have an illegitimate child in Mississippi, it’s okay, it happens. But, if you have another, you’ve officially crossed the line into immorality. You’ll be guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction thereof, shall be punished by imprisonment in the county jail for not less than 30 days nor more than ninety 90 days or pay a fine of not more than $250, or both.
If you subsequently have another illegitimate child, you will then be subject to no less than three and no more than six months in county jail, and you might have to pay a $500 fine.
5. Being homeless is illegal
Vagrancy is prohibited in Mississippi. Anyone who’ll be caught wandering aimlessly without any visible means of support will be arrested and sent to jail for not less than 10 nor more than 30 days.
6. Exterior security bars are banned
The city of Ridgeland in Madison County does not allow security/burglar bars on doors and windows within the city on buildings used for commercial or industrial purposes which would be visible from the street or adjacent structures. Any person who violates this law, upon conviction, shall be fined in an amount not to exceed $1,000.00. Any continuous violation will be treated as a separate offense.
When starting a business in Mississippi, you need to understand the rules that the state imposes on businesses. Perhaps these guides on how to start an LLC in Mississippi and how to find a great registered agent in Mississippi can help you avoid any legal issues when opening or doing business in the state.
7. Cohabitation is prohibited
According to Mississippi Code Title 97, any man and woman who unlawfully cohabits, whether in adultery or fornication, they’ll be arrested and fined not more than $500 each and be imprisoned in the county jail for not more than six months.
8. Seducing women by falsely claiming to marry them is outlawed
Any man who sleeps with a woman who is over the age of 18 years by virtue of any feigned or pretended marriage or any false or feigned promise of marriage, shall, upon conviction be imprisoned in the penitentiary for not more than five years. However, the testimony of the seduced woman will not, in itself, warrant a conviction.
Strangest laws in the different states
Strangest Laws in Alabama
Strangest Laws in Alaska
Strangest Laws in Arizona
Strangest Laws in Arkansas
Strangest Laws in California
Strangest Laws in Colorado
Strangest Laws in Connecticut
Strangest Laws in Delaware
Strangest Laws in Florida
Strangest Laws in Georgia
Strangest Laws in Hawaii
Strangest Laws in Idaho
Strangest Laws in Illinois
Strangest Laws in Indiana
Strangest Laws in Iowa
Strangest Laws in Kansas
Strangest Laws in Kentucky
Strangest Laws in Louisiana
Strangest Laws in Maine
Strangest Laws in Maryland
Strangest Laws in Massachusetts
Strangest Laws in Michigan
Strangest Laws in Minnesota
Strangest Laws in Mississippi
Strangest Laws in Missouri
Strangest Laws in Montana
Strangest Laws in Nebraska
Strangest Laws in Nevada
Strangest Laws in New Hampshire
Strangest Laws in New Jersey
Strangest Laws in New Mexico
Strangest Laws in New York
Strangest Laws in North Carolina
Strangest Laws in North Dakota
Strangest Laws in Ohio
Strangest Laws in Oklahoma
Strangest Laws in Oregon
Strangest Laws in Pennsylvania
Strangest Laws in Rhode Island